Accessing your post-adoption records and starting a search in Québec

I - How to go about searching for a parent or child

You will need to submit a written request to the Youth Centre (Centre Jeunesse, or formerly the C.S.S.) in the region where the child was born. For a complete list of the Youth Centres, click here. (Pdf)

It is essential that you follow this procedure. There are two things you should request.

A] Ask to be sent non-identifying information about your birth parent or your child.
If you are an adoptee looking for your birth mother, you should address your request to the Youth Centre in the region where you were adopted. This document is a synopsis with no information that would allow you to identify the person you are looking for.

If you are a birth mother looking for your child, you should address your request to the Youth Centre in the region where the child was given up for adoption. This document is a synopsis with no information that would allow you to identify the adoptive family.

If you are an orphan, you should address your request to the Youth Centre in the last region in which you were living before you reached adult age or to the Youth Centre in the region where you were born.
B] Ask to be added to the post-adoption registry so that your name can be forwarded to other people looking for you.
The Québec Youth Centres are the only places where the adoption records are kept. As a result, they are the only people who know the identity of the people concerned. The original names and the names given at baptism are often fictitious, and thus of no use. The Youth Centres give priority to the following cases:
  • children whose mother is older than 70
  • serious illness
  • orphans
  • social distress (psychological disorders)
  • matches
Since October 1, 2007, all services for the post-adoption sector in the Youth Centers are free of charge. So, the three steps (search, contact and reunion) are free of charge. No extra fees are required to open your file, send your non-identifying information, or any other application in this sector.

II - Registration with Mouvement Retrouvailles

If you register with Mouvement Retrouvailles before, you have the chance of finding a match if both parties are already Mouvement Retrouvailles members.

If you are a Mouvement Retrouvailles member and have a request with the Youth Center, you can ask to be accompanied by Mouvement Retrouvailles during the third stage of the process, i.e. the reunion. We offer this service free of charge to our members. We have helpers who will be happy to provide you with guidance and support during this period.

Do not hesitate to request this service. People are there, waiting to help you, in a completely non-judgmental setting. Remember, we are all going through the same situation, some are just more affected than others. If you would like us to mail you a membership form or further information on our organization, please contact us.



Mouvement Retrouvailles - Head-office
Casier postal 47002
Lévis (Québec)
G6Z 2L3

Caroline Fortin, Présidente et coordonnatrice
Téléphone : 418 903 9960
Téléphone : 1 888 646 1060 (sans frais)
Télécopie : 418 834 9627

Download our logo tif or gif

Website created by Eric Langlois

© 1996-2016 Mouvement Retrouvailles. All rights reserved.

Antécédents socio-biologiques et services post-adoption Imprimer cette page


La loi | À l'extérieur du Québec |

I - Procédures à suivre pour entreprendre la recherche d'un parent ou d'un enfant

Vous devez faire une demande écrite au Centre Jeunesse (anciennement appelé C.S.S.) de la région où l'enfant est né.
La liste complète des C.J. est ici (Pdf)

Cette démarche est essentielle, vous devez demander deux choses :

A] Que l'on vous envoie les renseignements non-nominatifs concernant votre parent ou votre enfant.
Pour l'enfant qui recherche sa mère, vous devez faire une demande au C.J. de la région où vous avez été adopté, ce document est un portrait robot, sans renseignement vous permettant d'identifier la personne recherchée.

Pour la mère qui recherche son enfant, vous devez faire votre demande au C.J. de la région où l'enfant a été confié pour adoption, ce document est un portrait-robot de la famille d'adoption de l'enfant ne permettant pas d'identifier la famille.

Pour l'orphelin qui recherche, vous devez faire votre demande au C.J. de la dernière région où vous viviez avant votre majorité ou dans le C.J. de la région où vous êtes né
B] Que l'on vous inscrive pour des retrouvailles afin qu'on puisse informer l'autre partie de votre désir de la connaître.
Les Centres Jeunesse du Québec sont les seuls détenteurs des dossiers d'adoption et par conséquent de l'identité des parties concernées. Souvent les noms d'origines et les noms donnés au baptême sont fictifs, donc d'aucune utilité. Le C.J. traite en priorité les cas suivants 
  • Enfant dont la mère a plus de 70 ans
  • Maladies graves
  • Orphelin
  • Détresse sociale (troubles psychologiques)
  • Concordance
Depuis le 1er octobre 2007, les Centres jeunesse du Québec effectuent sans frais tous les services du secteur post-adoption. Donc, les trois étapes normales (localisation, contact et retrouvailles) se font sans frais. Aucuns frais supplémenaires ne sont demandés quant à l'ouverture du dossier, l'envoi des antécédents socio-biologiques, la vérification d'un décès, ou toute autre demande relevant de ce secteur.

II - Inscription au Mouvement Retrouvailles

En vous inscrivant au Mouvement Retrouvailles, tout en plaçant votre demande au Centre jeunesse, vous avez la chance qu'il y ait concordances si les deux parties sont inscrites au Mouvement.

Si vous décidez de vous inscrire au Centre jeunesse que vous êtes membre du Mouvement, vous pouvez demander d'être accompagné par le Mouvement Retrouvailles pour la troisième étape du processus du projet, soit les retrouvailles, et ce gratuitement pour les membres. Nous avons des accompagnants pour vous guider et vous appuyer lors de votre cheminement.

N'hésitez pas à demander ce service, des gens sont là prêts à vous aider dans votre cheminement, et ce sans aucun jugement. Nous vivons tous la même situation, à des degrés différents. Contacter le siège social pour recevoir le formulaire de demande d'adhésion du Mouvement Retrouvailles.


La loi



Affichez votre bannière sur notre site

Mouvement Retrouvailles - adopté(e)s - non adopté(e)s - parents
Casier postal 47002
Lévis (Québec)
G6Z 2L3

Caroline Fortin, Présidente et coordonnatrice
Téléphone : 418 903 9960
Téléphone : 1 888 646 1060 (sans frais)
Télécopie : 418 834 9627

Téléchargez notre logo ou bannières

Site Web créé par Eric Langlois

© 1996-2016 Mouvement Retrouvailles. Tous droits réservés, reproduction interdite.